Am I mindful of the things that take place in my life?

It is almost my three months completion at St. Vincent de Paul today as I write this. From the wonderful community I share the living space with to daily & quiet morning walks, interactions with clients, impromptu deep & philosophical conversations with staffs in the copy room, eating lunch together, to sharing laughters & snacks with my supervisor, etc. All these, in many ways, have shed a light on me. It is almost magical how time flies and little did I know what impact the surrounding can have on oneself.

There are times, actually most of the time, being mindful of oneself does not come easy – it slips off my mind easily without even knowing

When the alarm goes off and I jump out of the bed, the nature of the mind in that moment is already in ten things to-do list. The outlook calendar pops into my mind. It is so hard to take a moment, lie in bed and feel my body breathing. And remember, “yeah, brand new day and I’m still alive.”

However, sometimes when I wake up in the middle of the night I am able to feel, almost reach out and touch the littleness of my being. I then ask myself, what it means to be alive, to be able to breathe, walk, talk, touch and see?

In these moments, I am forced to believe that there is a greater purpose for every one of our lives on this planet. The quest to truly finding the purpose may not come easy but each step we take, if we tread gently, we will see we are all here for a reason.

At the end of every day before I go to bed, I ask myself few (to many it seems trivial) questions, some obvious ones and few not as much, “did I prepare my lunch?”, “was I about the things that matter?” “did I try hard at things without worrying about the outcomes?” and most importantly, “did I love well today?”

These may seem simple yet I find these as the first step toward being at peace with myself & the surroundings – taking time for every little things happening in my vicinity, of how one’s conscious thought or/and action can impact the community. To me, it is as simple as smiling at someone walking past me as I walk from home to work and vice-versa. I softly repeat to myself, “it’s a great day to do something good for someone”.

It feels almost the world is smiling right back at me when I do this. This can seem trivial but this has helped me be a better version of myself this couple of weeks.

Mantra to live by: I am grateful for all that is unfolding in my life and all that is yet to come – (refer to “Try living with Lucie Fink” – refinery 29) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kw-uE1-3ZqI

 

attachmentKaruna Reang joins us most recently from Stonehill College in Easton, MA.  Originally from Tripura, India, Karuna brings a deep longing for simplicity, a great sense of humor, and excellent culinary skills to her VVC community.  At work, you can find Karuna walking Pharmacy clients through their intake process – all with a smile.

Leave a Reply

